FEMUN 2020 Report

The Fifth anniversary Far Eastern Model UN (FEMUN) 2020 was held from 15-18 May 2020. The event gathered more than 150 delegates (an absolute record for any MUNRFE event) at online lectures, workshops, and debate sessions. Due to the COVID-19 outbreak, the FEMUN 2020 turned out to be the first experience of an online event for MUNRFE as well as the first MUN Conference in Russia that adapted the UN4MUN format online .

Noteworthy, regional and foreign representation essentially increased, as the event attracted delegates from India, Brazil, South Africa (participants of BRICS Educational Internship Program), Indonesia, Kazakhstan, China, Vietnam, and various cities of Russia such as Moscow, Kazan, Novosibirsk, Tomsk, Nizhny Novgorod, Yaroslavl, Komsomolsk-on-Amur, Kursk, Ufa, Blagoveshchensk, and Vladivostok.

The event was implemented with the support of the Trade, Investment, and Innovation Division of the United Nations Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific (UN ESCAP), World Health Organization (WHO), as well as Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty Organization Youth Group (CYG). Dr. Mia Mikic, Director of the Trade, Investment, and Innovation Division of the UN ESCAP; Dr. Melita Vujnovic , WHO Representative to the Russian Federation; and Ms. Natalia Zhurina, CYG Coordinator for Eastern Europe conducted briefings for different committees on the topics related to the agenda items.

The committees and agendas at the FEMUN 2020 were:

General Assembly Second Committee – International Trade and Development;

General Assembly Third Committee – Right of Peoples to Self-Determination;

Economic and Social Council – Prevention and Control of Non-Communicable Diseases;

Security Council – Non-proliferation (the Islamic Republic of Iran).


MUNRFE is honored to recognize the winners in various nominations.

Distinguished Online Delegations:

Far Eastern Federal University (Vladivostok, Russia);

Nizhny Novgorod Linguistic University (Nizhny Novgorod, Russia);

Yaroslavl State Pedagogical University (Yaroslavl, Russia).


Outstanding Online Delegations:

The United Kingdom (Victor Obvintsev, Diana Ilyaskina, Katerina Arkhipova, Huyen Pham, adviser – Aleksandra Chernysheva) – Vladivostok, Russia;

Nicaragua (Aleksei Menskii, Amina Golubeva, Ilya Shadskikh) - Nizhny Novgorod, Russia.


Best Document:

Kirill Shabalin - Belgium, GA2 (Vladivostok, Russia);


Distinguished Online Delegates:

Ekaterina Eryomina – Spain, GA2 (Vladivostok, Russia);

Peter Mendy – the USA, SC (Vladivostok, Russia);

Kamilla Kukushkina – Belgium, GA3 (Vladivostok, Russia);

Olga Litvinova – Uruguay, ECOSOC (Komsomolsk, Russia);

Tushar Singh Manchanda – the USA, ECOSOC (Noida, India).


Online Diplomacy Award:

Tatiana Akuneeva – Japan, GA3 (Russia);

Kirill Shabalin – Belgium, GA2 (Russia);

Sandra Mills – Finland, ECOSOC (Ghana);

Maria Pankova – Dominican Republic, SC (Russia).


Along with warm congratulations to the recipients of the awards, MUNRFE invites all the participants of FEMUN 2020 to stay turned with the official website. In case the epidemiological situation allows, the Call for MUNRFE Leadership Program delegates, which will include participation in the National Model UN 2020 in Kobe, Japan, will be announced. The recipients of FEMUN 2020 awards will have an advantage in the selection process.

MUNRFE expresses its deepest gratitude to the FEMUN 2020 Organizing Committee:

Senior Secretariat:

Secretary-General Daria Zlydar,

Under-Secretary-General for Conference Management Polina Dolgopolova,

Under-Secretary-General for Public Information and Communications Aleksandra Chernysheva.


Secretariat team:

GA2 Chairperson Christina Tolmacheva and Vice-Chairperson Aleksandra Chernysheva,

GA3 Chairperson Alyona Plekhanova and Vice-Chairperson Evgenia Sochneva,

SC President Maksim Sorokin and Vice-President Nikita Volkov,

ECOSOC Chairperson Daria Kurushina and Vice-Chairperson Galina Salnikova.


MUNRFE expresses its gratitude to  MUNRFE Advisory Council Chairman Mr. Vitaly Savenkov, MUNRFE Councillor, Ms. Alexandra Kosyreva, and MUNRFE Acting Executive Director Mr. Aleksei Stanonis for the immense contribution to the project implementation by constant assistance and advice provided to the Secretariat.

It is important to note the work of the Department of Global Communications, headed by Ms. Chernysheva, on the media coverage of the event. DGC members are Oleg Povzyk, Natalia Zuikova, Veronika Tkachenko, and Anna Nikolaeva. MUNRFE also recognizes the contribution of Ms. Polina Varfolomeeva, Ms. Diana Tereschenko and Ms. Alina Medved'.

Moreover, it is worth commending the endeavors undertaken by the Department of Conference Management under the leadership of Ms. Dolgopolova on the technical arrangement of the Conference events. DCM members include Manager for work with participants – Oleg Povzyk; Manager for video coverage – Alina Medved; PR-working group - Anna Nikolaeva, Olga Lyapina, Victor Obvintsev, Daria Valitova; Designers – Elizaveta Saltanova and Ksenia Kushnareva; Tech support group - Darya Krasnyuk, Vladislav Zaytsev, Svetlana Chernyavskaya, Oleg Povzyk; FEFU Media Center.

MUNRFE congratulates the winners along with all participants and members of the organizing committee on the successful completion of the Far Eastern Model UN 2020. MUNRFE is proud to serve as the platform for the professional and personal development of young ambitious people who are willing to change the world for the better.

Last news